Winner of the Parliamentary Jazz Award for Best Media, 2019


Ubunye is a seven piece ensemble featuring the instrumental talents of Leeds based musicians David Evans (keys), Kenny Higgins (electric bass), Alex Wibrew (drums) and Nik Rutherford (guitar). It is fronted by three vocalists from the Kwa Zulu Natal region of South Africa, Xolani Mbathe, Thandanani Gumede and Nokuthula Zondi. The group’s music fuses jazz with Afro-pop and traditional ‘Isigqui’ Zulu music.